Tuesday, April 22, 2014

If Chocolate Were Purple earns the CLC Seal of Approval



Author Jen Barton explores a nonsensical world in which chocolate is purple and bananas glow in the dark. Written in lyrical rhyme with fantastically imaginative scenarios, children are transported to a land of endless possibilities.  Highly expressive and colorful illustrations are perfectly paired with this book.  The most lovely ending to this enchanting read makes a point very clear:  one thing is certain - little ones can count on your love. 

If Chocolate Were Purple is everything a children's picture book should be, all wrapped up in a perfect little bow.  If chocolate were purple... what a magical place this world would be. 

This book comes highly recommended and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

Monday, April 14, 2014

Hometown Heroines, by Betty Bolté, earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Hometown Heroines, by Betty Bolté, is a compilation of stories about young women and girls who helped shape the history of our country.

Some whimsical, and others quite dramatic, each short story is told vividly and with accurate detail.  Each chapter, chronicling a different historical event, is followed by interesting facts to further enhance the preceding story.  These facts include information about supporting literature, monuments, museums, relics and more. 

At a young age, Bolté determined to help bring history alive by finding ways to make historical facts more interesting.  She has done just that in her book, Hometown Heroines, which depicts the tenacity and bravery of young women whose stories are as inspiring as they are interesting. 

Hometown Heroines is recommended by Literary Classics and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

Sunday, March 23, 2014

Rave Reviews for Strange Metamorphosis


 
When P.C.R. Monk set out to write his debut novel, he did so with the flourish and finesse of an established author.  His book, Strange Metamorphosis, is as rich and layered as a buttery croissant and just as gratifying to devour.  Seasoned with sage tidbits of choice life lessons throughout, steeped in adventure and sprinkled with just a touch of romance, this book is perfectly balanced to provide an enticing read that is destined to become a treasured piece of literature for the young and young at heart.
 
Marcel Dassaud is a boy of exceptional talent who is at a stage in life where he must decide between two paths, both of which have the potential for completely divergent outcomes.  Reflecting upon his options, he finds himself uttering his contemplation to an ancient oak tree which, according to legend, possesses magical powers to impart great wisdom.  Moments later he finds himself shrunken to the size of the bugs he once collected for sport.  It is soon revealed to him by a gallfly that in order to return to his former state, he must embark on a quest to gather some of the royal jelly which is heavily guarded by bees.  He must do this within three days, or his metamorphosis into a bug will be complete and he will never return to his human state. 
 
Along the way, Marcel discovers much about himself, his friends, and the bugs he encounters while seeking the royal jelly.  Strange Metamorphosis, is an exciting and whimsical adventure, written with great aplomb and a style which many authors can only hope to achieve within their lifetime.
 
Strange Metamorphosis, comes highly recommended for classroom educators and school and home libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

Sunday, March 2, 2014

Si Mama, Si Papa Earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Deeply rooted in faith and family, young Helen loves her Mama and Papa and the Holy Family.  But she is a shy little girl and is afraid to embark on the unknown as her first day of school approaches.  In a rare act of defiance, she refuses to go to school.  But she is gently reminded by her mother that good things come from obeying and that even Mary and Jesus did things that at times were unpleasant, although they would have preferred not to. 

Si Mama, Si Papa is a lovely book with a positive message and an uplifting outcome.  Children will be able to relate to Helen's fears and insecurities as she tries to overcome her shyness.  The overall message that good things come to those who obey is a beautiful lesson for young children. 

Si Mama, Si Papa, by Nancy Scalabroni, is a bilingual story - told first in English, and then in Spanish.  This book is recommended for home and libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

Saturday, March 1, 2014

CougaMongaMingaMan earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


What do you do when you have a cat with an exceptionally long tail?  Why you give it a really long name, of course.  CougaMongaMingaMan is the tale of a tail (and the cat to which it is attached) which draws quite a lot of attention for its exceptional length.  As CougaMongaMingaMan gathers with his neighborhood feline friends each day we are introduced to a unique cast of characters, all of which make for a fun and interesting read.

Author Nancy Scalabroni has created an imaginative story where the cats are the main characters and all their personalities shine as she portrays the leisurely life of this interesting group of friends.  Kids are sure to enjoy this children's picture book which is sure to ignite their creativity. 

 CougaMongaMingaMan has earned the CLC Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

Deputy Dorkface Does it Again! CLC Seal of Approval


Deputy Dorkface, How Trutherton Got Its Honesty Back, is a raucous, riotous read with a terrific message for young readers.  Kevin D. Janison has a real knack for entertaining kids all the while teaching life lessons they will enjoy learning.  When the citizens of Trutherton experience lies for the first time ever, they are thrown into a state of confusion.  Assuming that everyone is being truthful, they act upon the lies as though they were truth.  This leads to chaos, the likes of which Trutherton has never seen. 

Illustrations by Eldon Doty are a perfect match for the witty text within the pages of this great read.  Kids, parents, teachers and librarians alike will fall head over heels for this literary treat.

Deputy Dorkface, How Trutherton Got Its Honesty Back, belongs on bookshelves everywhere and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.





LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

Sardis and Stamm Earns the CLC Seal of Approval


Sardis and Stamm, written by Matthew P. Bettelheim and illustrated by Nicole M. Wong, is a beautiful book with a lovely message.  The Lange's metalmark butterfly is in danger of extinction.  Having lost all but two small parcels of land in Antioch, California for its survival, each butterfly that remains is precious and rare.  When young Sardis comes across an injured metalmark, she treads the path to the butterfly's habitat to help ensure the life of the metalmark will carry on. 

Told in rhyme, employing use of exquisite imagery, this book is a delight to read.  Fantastic illustrations wrap up this book in a perfect little package.  Sardis and Stamm is an excellent addition to any school, classroom and home library.  It provides a rare combination of literary treasures that will keep young readers wanting to come back again and again to experience the pages of this exceptional book.

Sardis and Stamm comes highly recommended and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

Benjamin Jay Was a Bully Earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



Benjamin Jay Was a Bully tells the tale of Benjamin, a Blue Jay, that is accustomed to getting his way by being pushy and demanding.  His bullying ways have all the other birds in Bird Garden scared silly.  Then one day a wise dove encourages all the other birds to try a new approach with Benjamin by following the golden rule.  When the other birds employ this new technique, Benjamin grows tired of bullying and comes to learn that following the golden rule really is a better way to behave. 

Benjamin Jay Was a Bully, written by Emma M. Glover, a former elementary school teacher, offers great insight into dealing with bullying and is a great book for use in classroom discussions.  This book has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.


LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

A Creeping Nothingness Came Crawling Earns the Seal of Approval


A Creeping Nothingness Came Crawling is not your average or ordinary children's picture book; in fact, it is almost a bit unsettling... almost.  But then there it is... Hope, Inspiration and Light.  This book stirs emotions, makes children think, and creates a sense of strength and empowerment.

Simply and powerfully written and illustrated, A Creeping Nothingness Came Crawling is a great book for opening up discussion and inspiring children to learn that they can be a source of light. 

A Creeping Nothingness Came Crawling is recommended for classrooms, home and school libraries and in counseling settings.  This book has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

I Like Pink, by Vivian Zabel, Earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


I Like Pink, by Vivian Zabel, is the story of a little girl who is on a quest for the perfect pink dress.  While shopping with her mother, she considers countless dresses that are all made from fabric in varying shades of pink.  At first she is bemused and a little frustrated with all the different colors.  But as the sales-clerk and her mother help her to understand that pink can come in many varying shades, she comes to realize and accept that she likes all kinds of pink. 

I Like Pink is a book with which many little girls will relate.  Expressive illustrations are a wonderful complement to this book, which will educate and entertain children who are fans of the color pink.

I Like Pink earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

Odie the Stray Kitten Earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Odie the Stray Kitten is the endearing tale of a little orange kitten which loses its family out in the forest.  Odie is cold and scared until he happens upon a barn.  Sneaking inside to get out of the cold, he soon encounters a girl who takes him in and gives him a home. 

Author Kristen Mott, has crafted a tale that speaks volumes to children about loss and the fears that arise when one feels all alone.  Both author and illustrator have skillfully depicted this tale which addresses Odie's plight with a sense of calming serenity. 

Wonderful illustrations by Lowell Hildebrandt, are perfectly paired with this book which is a true gem of a read.  We highly recommend Odie the Stray Kitten for classrooms, school and home libraries, and in counseling settings for children dealing with loss.

This book has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

My Brother is My Best Friend earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


Nicole Weaver has created a new counterpart to her award winning picture book, My Sister is My Best Friend.

My Brother is My Best Friend, is an enjoyable and easy read.  Two playful and inquisitive boys enjoy each other's company as they have fun and explore.  The book is told in three languages, English, Spanish & French.  Each language is highlighted in a different color, allowing the reader to differentiate between the languages.  This is a fun book to read, while at the same time helping readers to become immersed in the different languages.  The powerful bond of twin brothers is an undercurrent to this story, so non-twins would be equally as engaged by this book. 

A glossary and word-search at the back of the book are helpful to teach kids about unfamiliar words used within the body of the book.

This book comes highly recommended for home and school libraries and has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

Friday, February 28, 2014

Author Spotlight - Lumen Award Winning Title: Eagle of Delight, by Dr. Jean A. Lukesh

 


HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN WRITING?
I’ve been writing all my life, or for as long as I can remember.
 

WHAT INSPIRED YOU TO BEGIN WRITING?
I grew up with lots of books, and I have always loved stories and reading. It just seemed natural to me to write some of my own stories in my head and then tell them to my friends or to transfer them to paper. When listeners or readers wanted to hear more, I was hooked on writing.
 

WHAT WAS THE INSPIRATION BEHIND YOUR AWARD WINNING TITLE?
I have always loved the Old West, horses, and Native American culture and history. The young Otoe Indian woman in my book, and the Plains Indian chiefs who traveled with her, once lived not far from where I now live--but they lived more than a hundred years before I was born. They made history and then were almost forgotten. I was intrigued by their story, their journey, and their lives, and wanted to try to recreate it all in my mind and on paper, so that others would know and remember what they did--and what an amazing young woman she was.
 
IS THIS YOUR FIRST BOOK? No, I have written and published several other books, as well as some magazine and newspaper articles. I write the "Nebraska Trivia Quiz" for Nebraska Life Magazine. I sometimes mentor and/or edit other authors and their books, and some of those have won book awards.
 

WHAT OTHER BOOKS HAVE YOU PUBLISHED?

My books include the following:
•The Nebraska Adventure (Gibbs Smith Co., 2005), a 4th grade Nebraska studies textbook (national, state, and humanities award-winning book)

•Lucky Ears: The True Story of Ben Kuroki, World War II Hero (Noteworthy Americans series, Field Mouse Productions, 2010) (2-time national/international award-winning book)

•Sky Rider: The Story of Evelyn Sharp, World War II WASP (Women Airforce Service Pilot) (Noteworthy Americans series, Field Mouse Productions, 2011)

•Wolves in Blue: Stories of the North Brothers and Their Pawnee Scouts (Noteworthy Americans series, Field Mouse Productions, 2011) (2-time national/international award-winning book)

•Doorstep Orphan: Eugene Field and a Trilogy of His Best Loved Poems (Field Mouse Productions, 2012) (2-time national/international award-winning book)

•Do You Know a Hero? (Field Mouse Productions, 2012)

•My Favorite Dog and Cat Story (Field Mouse Productions, 2013)

DO YOU HAVE ANY NEW BOOKS IN THE WORKS?
I am currently working on another biography of one of the Native Americans who traveled with Eagle of Delight. He was a Pawnee chief who also had an amazing impact on history--and he lived not more than 15 miles from my home (as the crow flies) but more than a hundred years before I was born. I started his book about 40 years ago and am just getting back to it. I hope to have it out and available from Field Mouse Productions in 2014.
 

TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT YOURSELF:
I was a school librarian and teacher for 30 years before retiring a few years ago so that I could continue to write my own books. I have a doctorate in education, and my children’s books have educational value. My historical nonfiction books, my small press, and I have now won 10 national/international book awards and numerous other honors.

TELL US SOMETHING FUN THAT OUR READERS MIGHT FIND FASCINATING ABOUT YOU:
*I have six horses, including 3 black Arabians; one is a grand-daughter and one is a great-grandson of Cass Ole, the primary black stallion featured in two of the Walter Farley Black Stallion movies.

*I spent a lot of my early years reading tombstones in the huge old cemetery where my beloved grandfather worked. Those epitaphs, names, and dates intrigued me and made me wonder and daydream about the lives and deaths of the people beneath the stones. That was part of my great fascination with history and words.

WHAT DO YOU MOST ENJOY DOING IN YOUR SPARE TIME?
When I have time, I really enjoy reading, writing, or trailriding my horses across country, also visiting historical sites and cemeteries.

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE MOVIE?
I still love westerns (in addition to many other kinds of shows/movies). My favorite movies are Jeremiah Johnson and The Magnificent Seven.

HAS YOUR BOOK RECEIVED ANY OTHER AWARDS?
Yes, my book has also received a 2013 MOONBEAM Young Adult Multicultural Nonfiction Gold Medal.

WHAT CHALLENGES DO YOU FACE AS AN AUTHOR? 
In this digital age, there are so many different publishing avenues open that almost anyone can get published (quickly and relatively inexpensively), but there are so many books out that it is very hard to get your book noticed and purchased. Authors also need to spend a significant amount of time marketing their own books, and that takes up a lot of writing time.

DO YOU HAVE ANY ADVICE FOR OTHER ASPIRING AUTHORS?
Yes, write, write, write, let it get cold, read it aloud, and then write and edit some more. Repeat those steps until the book is the best it can be. The more you write, the more you perfect your craft. Also read (and sometimes research), a lot, in between writing!
 

CAN YOU OFFER ANY TIPS ON GETTING PUBLISHED?
Yes, join writing groups that can help you achieve your goals, but don’t allow people or organizations to drain away your writing time or your desire to be a writer. Look for mentors who are willing to help you learn; listen to them, but also decide your own way to go. Give back by paying it forward, to help younger or less experienced writers whenever you can.
 

IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE YOU’D LIKE TO SHARE WITH OUR READERS?
I have a certificate in publishing from Denver University Publishing Institute. It was a great and most worthwhile course that has helped me immensely with my own writing, editing, and publishing. During that course, I worked closely with New York publishers and university publishers. I still do some edit work for various small presses closer to my home, but seldom make any money at it. Most of my time is spent writing my own books

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

Thursday, February 27, 2014

My Name is Rapunzel Earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval



My Name is Rapunzel is not your every-day, ordinary fairytale.  KC Hilton has crafted a noteworthy read, two and a half decades in the making.    --It is modern day, and Rapunzel is alive and well.  She has read every rendition of her tale as told by the Brothers Grimm and other such storytellers, and now she is ready to set the record straight.  Replete with witches and castles and dragons, this story offers up many of the usually expected components of typical fairytales, but with a young adult, modern-day spin that helps make this a highly engaging read.  Appropriate romantic content, coupled with intriguing plot twists, add to the charm of this book which comes highly recommended by the Literary Classics Review Committee.

My Name is Rapunzel, by KC Hilton has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval. 
The CLC Seal of Approval is a designation reserved for those books which uphold the rigorous criteria set forth by the Children's Literary Classics review committee, a team comprised of individuals with backgrounds in publishing, editing, writing, illustration and graphic design.



LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com

Friday, January 31, 2014

Once Upon A Road Trip earns the Literary Classics Seal of Approval


 
 
Literary Classics is pleased to announce that the young adult book, Once Upon A Road Trip, written by  Angela Blount, has been selected to receive the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.  The CLC Seal of Approval is a designation reserved for those books which uphold the rigorous criteria set forth by the Literary Classics review committee, a team comprised of individuals with backgrounds in publishing, editing, writing, illustration and graphic design.

Angela Blount has created an inspiring and enlightening coming-of-age book through the memoirs of her eighteen year old self.  Angeli is a bright girl, but she doesn't know where her life is heading.  Feeling overwhelmed by the sense that she should have a plan for her future, she decides to take a two month long solo road trip in a quest for self-discovery.  Somehow she hopes that along the way she will come to some sort of realization as to the direction she should take in life.  Her plan is to drive to various places throughout the U.S. and Canada where she will stay with a number of the people whom she has befriended through an internet chat-room.  Along the way she encounters obstacles, heartache and betrayal.

Once Upon A Road Trip is an engaging read with lots of interesting developments that keep the reader hinged to see what will happen next.  Blount tactfully addresses a multitude of subjects that young people often tend to encounter.  Young Angie has a beautiful soul and a strong faith which helps guide her through some challenging situations.  The undercurrent of her faith is a big part of what makes this book unique.  Angie's weaknesses and insecurities are no match for her faith which seems to keep her grounded.  Blount has done a terrific job of exposing Angie's vulnerabilities all the while highlighting her journey towards a deeper understanding of herself and the people in her life.  As the story progresses she slowly sheds some of her youthful naiveté and learns who she can and cannot trust --and ultimately lets go of her insecurities and allows herself to love and to be loved.

Children’s Literary Classics, an organization dedicated to furthering excellence in  children’s literature, takes great pride in its role to help promote classic children's literature which appeals to youth, while educating and encouraging positive values in the impressionable young minds of future generations.   To learn more about Children's Literary Classics, you may visit their website at www.clcawards.org or www.childrensliteraryclassics.com

LITERARY CLASSICS Book Reviews & Awards http://literaryclassicsreviews.com